Urban Design Panel - Commission Representative


The by-law governing the Urban Design Panel requires that one of the 13 members be a representative of the Vancouver City Planning Commission. The Commission invites its own members to express interest in the position and the selection is made by vote. As there is a significant time commitment, the Commission representative to the Urban Design Panel is usually excused from active participation in Commission initiatives and projects.

Meeting bi-weekly, the Panel provides impartial and professional advice to the Director of Planning, the Development Permit Board or to City Council on any proposal or policy affecting the physical environment of the community. In particular, the Panel offers advice on significant development permit applications that are to be reviewed by the Development Permit Board or Director of Planning, as well as comprehensive rezoning applications and other projects of public interest.

Appointments are for two-year terms, with no limit on the number of terms. The Panel meets bi-weekly on Wednesday afternoons. 


Urban Design Panel Information (City of Vancouver website)

Overview, Meetings, Minutes and Procedure

By-law No. 4722


Commission Representatives to the Urban Design Panel

Phil Mondor

Arno Matis

David Godin

Bob Ransford

Eileen Keenan

Marta Farevaag

Reena Lazar

Lance Berelowitz

Sean McEwen